Aspects of the Bio-enterprise and Employability module: The Seminar Blogs

Over the course of the academic year part of the bio-enterprise and employability module at Bangor University involved https://i0.wp.com/www.bangor.ac.uk/itservices/av/lecturerooms/images/rooms/f27.jpggoing to seminars and writing blogs about them. This is what gave rise to the varied and seemingly random science topics that have appeared on this blog. However, there is one link between these topics: they are all of interest to me. I picked them specifically for their broad range, covering topics from biomedical genetics, to woodland conservation, covering part of the large spectrum and depth that Biology has to offer. Despite this variation, the one trend throughout all of these talks was that they all involved leading research, by enthusiastic individuals, allowing for a valuable insight into the various areas of biological research that are currently happening around the world.

Having this opportunity has reaffirmed my previous ambitions to continue my education to a postgraduate level. Seeing people actively making biological discoveries, whilst continually adding to their knowledge base, made me sure that I am not yet ready to finish academia yet, and has been a contributing reason to me applying for both masters and PhD placements this year.

Not only have these talks helped with my career choiceshttps://i0.wp.com/blog.jetbrains.com/phpstorm/files/2014/03/wordpress-logo-stacked-rgb.png, they have also helped me to develop some practical skills, such as the ability to concisely summarise presentations with large amounts of information, whilst portraying my own opinion. This element has also developed my blogging skills, which I now know could be an important element in creating an employable profile.
Overall, I have thoroughly enjoyed attending these seminars and writing this blog, and will miss it when I leave Bangor University in a month.


 

Resources:

Here is an article about how blogging can increase your employability:

http://www.gradquiz.com/studentvine/2014/03/3-ways-blogging-can-increase-your-employability/

Here is the wordpress guide on how to set a blog up:

http://learn.wordpress.com/

One comment

  1. Hi Hannah,

    I think you’ve hit the nail on the head with the value of the seminars, and I agree it does feel beneficial to keep a “finger on the pulse” of what’s going on in the scientific community across a broad spectrum of disciplines. It’s been thoroughly enjoyable reading your blogs and writing my own over the past academic year and I wish you all the success in your future aspirations!

    James

Leave a comment