Aspects of the Bio-enterprise and Employability Module: The Business Plan Essay

The final element of the bio-enterprise and employability module comprised of gaining knowledge on the process of writing a business plan from Chris Walker, a business expert.
This led to an assignment which entailed explaining each element of a business plan, and how knowledge of each element may help me in my future career. https://i0.wp.com/illuminationconsulting.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/business-plan.jpg
At first I had my doubts of how useful I would find this assignment, as I had never had any desire to go into business before. However, as I now understand that every company and almost every job involves business of some type, I can fully appreciate the benefits that this course component can offer to me.

If my future plans become a reality then I hope to be a research scientist of some description within the next 5 to 10 years. If this is the case then a regular part of my job would be to write, or assist in writing grant proposals to research councils asking for funding. This is essentially a different form of business plan, with resources, objectives and financial figures still being a necessity to outline. I feel that even if I do not find myself involved in the running of a business, the knowledge of how to write a business plan is a vital and transferable skill, which I will be able to apply to almost any future employment I may come across.

 


Resources:https://i0.wp.com/images.the-scientist.com/content/figures/0890-3670-051024-36-1-1.jpg

Here is a word document containing the business plan structure that we were given:

BUSINESS PLAN

Here is some government advice on how to write your own business plan:

https://www.gov.uk/write-business-plan

Leave a comment